alt text goes here

Ngāti Kahungunu
Iwi introduction and map

Iwi maps

The Iwi maps show the density of iwi populations across New Zealand. The Iwi maps differ from the Rohe map, which provides rohe boundaries rather than densities.

Ngati Kahungunu

Ngati Kahungunu is made up of 6 Taiwhenua Districts - Ngāti Kahungunu ki Te Wairoa, Ngāti Kahungunu ki Heretaunga , Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa, Ngāti Kahungunu ki Te Whanganui-a-Orotu, Ngāti Kahungunu ki Tamatea, Ngāti Kahungunu ki Tamakinui a Rua – as well as Ngāti Pāhauwera and Ngāti Rākaipaaka. Also included is the Statistics New Zealand category ‘Ngati Kahungunu region unspecified’.

Please note that each of these is also profiled individually, except for the category ‘Ngati Kahungunu region unspecified’.